Skip to content

Writing In Solitary. Writing In Social.

bastião / literary elements

By SARVAT HASIN

1.

I have been thinking a lot about tribes lately, about families and the people you twine your life with. I don’t mean the people you’re born with. I don’t mean romantic love: I mean the other thing, the stuff that comes in between that people forget to cling on to.

2.

In the pub, after my book launch, a friend wraps her arm around my shoulders. There has been talk all evening of how good it is to be around each other. We discuss living as a commune. She says: I think we should form a coven.

I say: I thought that’s what we were doing.

Everyone at the table laughs but I am not joking.

3.

Writing is solitary. You do it in a room alone. Properly speaking, you should do it up in the hills with no one around for miles, just someone to bring…

View original post 587 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

