Skip to content

Frida Kahlo-Painter of Pain

Patsy's Creative Corner

frida-kahlo-2

Hello Friends,

Recently I decided to look into the biography of Frida Kahlo, the female Mexican artist who definitely painted her pain.  Above is my personal favorite picture of her.  Most of her paintings have always felt a bit unsettling and disturbing to me.  I never felt comfortable viewing them, but I think it was because I never researched her life to find out why she painted the things she did.  I really didn’t know anything about her until I watched a Biography DVD about her that I checked out from the library a couple of weeks ago.  It was then that I learned about the horrific bus accident she was in when she was just 18 years old. This accident changed her life in many ways.

Frida Kahlo was born on July 6, 1907.  Her full name was Magdelena Carmen Frieda Kahlo Calderon.  She later changed the spelling of…

View original post 827 more words

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Categories

